Everything we know about the 2022 Darts Premier League

Everything we know about the 2022 Darts Premier League

2022 Darts Premier League is on its way with a revised schedule. The most awaited darts tournament will soon start hosting matches. Let’s find out everything you need to know about the 2022 Darts Premier League.


When it was declared that at least half of the Unibet 2021 Premier League season would happen behind closed doors, the Professional Darts Corporation (PDC) could fix dates for next year’s mega event. Fans and players are now gearing up for the tournament. The 2022 edition of the Darts Premier League will feature some of the top players, most exciting venues and stunning matchups.


The tournament will begin in early February 2022 in Cardiff. Motorpoint Arena will host the first venue, and 16 others will follow. From February to May, Darts Premier League will host their tournament every Thursday night.

Some of the best arenas in Europe will host these matches. Here are a few of the stunning venues for the 2022 Darts Premier League:

  • Liverpool’s M&S Bank Arena
  • Belfast’s SSE Arena
  • Dublin’s 3Arena
  • Glasgow’s SSE Hydro
  • Berlin’s Mercedes-Benz Arena
  • Rotterdam Ahoy
  • Brighton Centre
  • Exeter’s Westpoint Arena
  • FlyDSA Arena, Sheffield
  • The O2, London
  • AO Arena, Manchester
  • P&J Live, Aberdeen
  • First Direct Arena, Leeds
  • Utilita Arena, Birmingham
  • Utilita Arena, Newcastle

Utilita Arena in Newcastle will host the grand finale, where the top two players will test their mettle against each other.

Birmingham will witness the bottom two players being eliminated. The 31st March will set in motion the real force of the tournament as players get down to business.

From 3rd February to 26th May, Darts fans will finally get the experience they have been waiting for. Here is the detailed schedule with venues and dates:

  • Thursday 3rd February – Motorpoint Arena Cardiff, Cardiff
  • Thursday 10th February – M&S Bank Arena, Liverpool
  • Thursday 17th February – SSE Arena Belfast, Belfast
  • Thursday 24th February – Mercedes-Benz Arena, Berlin
  • Thursday 3rd March – Westpoint Arena, Exeter
  • Thursday 10th March – Brighton Centre, Brighton
  • Thursday 17th March – Motorpoint Arena, Nottingham
  • Thursday 24th March – Rotterdam Ahoy, Rotterdam
  • Thursday 31st March – Utilita Arena, Birmingham
  • Thursday 7th April – First Direct Arena, Leeds
  • Thursday 14th April – AO Arena, Manchester
  • Thursday 21st April – P&J Live, Aberdeen
  • Thursday 28th April – 3Arena, Dublin
  • Thursday 5th May – SSE Hydro, Glasgow
  • Thursday 12th May – FlyDSA Arena, Sheffield
  • Thursday 19th May – The O2, London
  • Thursday 26th May – Utilita Arena Newcastle

Sky Sports will broadcast all the matches, so fans can enjoy the thrill of the competition from the comfort of their homes. Tune in to Sky Sports every Thursday from 3rd February to 26th May at 19:00 GMT.

How to get tickets?

If you are an avid follower of darts, you will want to witness the event first-hand. If you happen to have a booking for the cancelled 2020 and 2021 tournaments, you are in luck. Premier League will automatically upgrade your tickets to the 2022 Darts Premier League.

With 75,000 upgraded tickets from the 2020 tournament, people who want fresh tickets might have a tough time. It’d be best to keep an eye on the online ticket booking portals. If you know someone who is a PDCTV Annual Member, your chances of getting a ticket will improve.

Format of the 2022 Darts Premier League

The tournament is divided into three phases. Phase 1 will be followed by Phase 2, and finally the


Phase 1: In the first phase, 10 players will be pitted one against the other, resulting in five PvP matches. These matches will have a maximum of 12 legs. Whoever reaches seven first will win, or there can be a 6-6 draw.

Once Phase 1 is over, the bottom two players of the table will be eliminated. Phase 2 will begin with eight players.

Phase 2: Similar to Phase 1, each player will compete against another in four PvP matches. Unlike Phase 1, there will be a maximum of 14 legs this time, making the first one to reach eight the winner. A 7-7 draw is also possible. At the end of Phase 2, half of the players will be eliminated. The top four will move to the play-offs.

Play-offs: Playoffs will have two knockout matches first. The first player from the table will compete against the fourth, and the second player will compete against the third. The winners of these two semi-finals will clash in the final.

Some of the best dart players in the world will participate in the 2022 Darts Premier League. Here’s the list of the top five from the PDC ranking:

  1. Gerwyn Price
  2. Peter Wright
  3. Michael van Gerwen
  4. James Wade
  5. Dimitri Van Den Bergh

Gear up for the Premier League Darts 2022 and get ready for some breath-taking action.

Safer gambling

We are committed in our support of responsible gambling. Recommended bets are advised to over-18s and we strongly encourage readers to wager only what they can afford to lose.

If you are concerned about your gambling, please call the National Gambling Helpline on 0808 8020 133, or visit begambleaware.org.

Further support and information can be found at GamCare and gamblingtherapy.org.

Like what you've read?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
18+ Logo

Always gamble responsibly.

All Rights Reserved 2022 © Premiershipbets